Review: The Dark Side Of The Rainbow by Danielle Paige

This is my second last review for the Dorothy Must Die novella series. It has been a crazy week of marathon reading and i’m kind of excited to slow back down. I really had fun reading these books and touring Oz from a new perspective. I hope you’re enjoying this series as well!

The book we’re going to be covering today is The Dark Side of the Rainbow, this book is about Polychrome who is the daughter of the rainbow and is a fairy. This makes her the cousin of Queen Ozma. Polychrome (Polly for short) rules over rainbow falls which is a hot vacation spot in Oz, it’s one of the most beautiful locations. All of her citizens are happy and she doesn’t really feel the amount of responsibility that Ozma feels towards her own kingdom.

This causes Polly to kind of shrug off her duties as they don’t seem important. Then Dorothy shows up and wants Polly to show her around and take her places. She comes off as kind of spoiled but she doesn’t have a problem with her. Until her true colours start to show.

I really liked this book because it showed how sometimes it takes something bad happening for people to take situations more seriously and change. I really like the character of Polly, she doesn’t really care about fickle things like fashion or being royalty. She just wants to see the world and do interesting things. She’s totally cool just camping under the stars. Shes very different from other characters from the Dorothy Must Die series.

I rate this book: 

*9/10*

I originally was going to review the last 2 books together but I haven’t quite finished The Queen of Oz yet, because I didn’t end up doing any reading yesterday. I’m hoping to finish it up today and then i’ll be able to have the review for you tomorrow!

As always thank you for reading!

Kelsey ❤

Leave a comment