Review: No Place Like Oz by Danielle Paige

This book. Wow where do I even start?

It’s only a novella so it isn’t very long, it’s only about 125 pages. But wow so much can happen in that time!

If you’ve seen my instagram video I had huge feelings reading this book. It gave me anxiety at some parts because of how terrible Dorothy was being. I actually had to put the book down for a couple seconds. Ultimately this didn’t last long as I needed to know how it would play out.

Possible Spoilers Below! 

The story starts with Dorothy back in Kansas hating everything, for lack of a better phrase. All she wants to do is return to Oz where life is magical and she actually means something to people. She isn’t being treated well at school and all the girls laugh at her because they don’t believe her story about how she went to Oz.

I won’t spoil much for you but that’s how it starts. Dorothy manages to actually get back to oz with the help of a certain someone. She eventually finds that she can do magic and becomes drunk with the power of it.

You see, in Oz magic can change you. it can warp you and turn you into something or someone you’re not. This is how it starts. It starts of small.. a little manipulation here and there. But then it gets out of control. Next thing you know she’s a spoiled brat who is not very likable at all.

Some of the things she does in this book are deplorable and made me clutch my pearls. The story telling makes you feel for Dorothy as a person. You can see the small changes and how the magic slowly corrupts her and turns her into a monster. But you can see that all of this happened because she was lonely. She didn’t have any friends in Kansas. She only had a chicken for company. In Oz she was important. She has friends and people who love and care about her. Even if some of those people are only pretending..

This book is so deep for only a 125 page story. I recommend it to everyone.

I rate this book

*10/10*

I know what you’re thinking “Kelsey you rate to easily!” I know that i do. But I really do love this book! Please read them!

Have you read these before? what did you think of them?! I’ve already almost finished the second one and i’m loving it so much!!

Thank you for reading,

Kelsey ❤

Leave a comment